Skip to content

Structural & Construction Engineering

Master's Degree in Structural & Construction Engineering

The Master's Degree in Structural & Construction Engineering provides a solid education in the field of structural and construction engineering. Students learn about topics such as the resistance mechanisms of structures and materials; materials-related durability and technology; construction and organisational methods; effective management of construction projects and sites; the environmental and socioeconomic impact of construction work; health and safety; quality; and sustainability.

Academic year starts in Fall semester (Q1): September
Spring semester (Q2): February
Duration 1.5 years
Study load 120 ECTS (including the Master's Final Thesis)
Minimum academic progress The minimum academic progress for first year students is 15 ECTS.
Delivery On-campus
Enrolment
  • Part-time
    At least 15 ECTS (and up to 60 ETCS) enrolled on the first year, and up to 72 ECTS the rest of the years
  • Full-time
    At least 15 ECTS and up to 40 ECTS
Language Spanish & English
Places 45
Official degree Master's Degree in Structural & Construction Engineering by the Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (recorded in the Spanish Ministry of Education's degree register)
Fees

More information about fees and payment options

More information about grants and loans

Academic coordinator Jose Turmo
meec.camins@upc.edu

Specific requirements

In order to gain admission to the Master's Degree in Structural & Construction Engineering applicants must have studied one of the following studies:

  • Civil Engineering studies:
  • Industrial Engineering studies:
  • Architecture studies:
  • Other studies:

    If the diploma or degree is different from the ones listed above, the Academic Committee in charge of the master's degree will assess the applicant's curriculum in order to grant them access and establish the necessary bridging courses.

Students pending obtaining the degree that gives access to the master's degree

UPC undergraduate students who, despite not having obtained the bachelor’s degree, have pending the TFG and, at most, up to 9 ECTS (including credits pending recognition or transfer) or who have completed their studies, but are waiting to achieve, if possible, transversal competence in a third language. Under no circumstances will students who access this route be able to obtain a master's degree if they have not previously obtained a bachelor's degree.

Candidates from other universities who are enrolled in all the credits to complete the studies that give access to the master's degree can apply for access. Acceptance will be conditioned to the fulfillment of the general and specific access and admission requirements at the time of formalizing the registration.

You will find all the information about the general Access requirements to UPC master's programs here.

Admission criteria

The following factors or parameters are considered for admission to the Master's Degree in Environmental Engineering:

  • Academic record (F1 = 40%)
    Weighting as established by the Academic regulations for Master's Programs at UPC-BarcelonaTech.
  • Efficiency (F2 = 30%)

    If this parameter or factor is not available, it will be calculated from data extracted from the academic record, such as the quotient between the credits passed and the credits enrolled by the student (credits of the courses multiplied by the number of times those same courses have been enrolled) multiplied by 10. If this factor cannot be calculated, the same value as in F1 will be applied.

  • Similarity of the content of the student's former education and the curriculum of the current master's degree (F3 = 20%)
  • Professional experience and other CV factors (F4 = 10%)

You can check the results of the evaluation and selection of the applications for the current academic year here.

Pre-enrolment and enrolment

Check here the general admission requirements for UPC masters and information on pre-enrolment: calendar, how to apply for admission, how to reserve a place if the resolution is favourable, etc.

Career opportunities

Graduates of this master’s degree course have various professional options within the framework of structural analysis, the design and technology of structures and construction engineering, mainly in the sphere of civil and buildings engineering.

They will also be able to work in project and process development engineering; project and works management companies; direction of works; construction companies; companies involved in the management and exploitation of infrastructures; government agencies and public companies with activities related to the planning, design, execution and exploitation of civil and building works; technological research centres; and universities.

Competencies

Generic competencies

Generic competencies are the skills that graduates acquire regardless of the specific course or field of study. The generic competencies established by the UPC are capacity for innovation and entrepreneurship, sustainability and social commitment, knowledge of a foreign language (preferably English), teamwork and proper use of information resources.

Specific skills

On completing this master's degree, students will be able to:

  • Conceive and design structures for buildings and public works that are durable, functional and aesthetically pleasing.
  • Calculate and construct the structures outlined above, using classical materials (reinforced and prestressed concrete, structural steel, masonry, wood) and new materials (compounds, fibreglass, carbon fibre, stainless steel, aluminium, glass).
  • Evaluate, repair or reinforce and maintain existing structures, including those that are historical and form part of the artistic heritage.
  • Manage and carry out designs and works effectively, paying particular attention to technological and innovative aspects and to sustainability.
  • Function as project managers, construction managers and work superintendents.
  • Apply scientific methodology.
  • Use their critical capacities.
  • Create and innovate.
  • Be rigorous in their approach in a way that is balanced with the socioeconomic reality of the field of construction.
  • Produce mathematical models of engineering problems.
2022-2023 Academic year
For more information on course groups, coordinators and codes check the printer version of the curriculum.

Students must enrol and pass 27,5 ECTS from elective courses within the same track (Structures or Construction) and 10 ECTS from elective courses within any of the two tracks.

COURSES

ECTS

Comments

First & second years
Fall semester
Mandatory
250731 - Construction Methods & Project Management 5
This subject has a group that is taught in English
Structures track elective courses
250403 - Structural analysis 7,5
250952 - Continuum mechanics 5
This subject is taught in English
250703 - Composite materials structures 5
250950 - Numerical methods for PDEs 5
This subject is taught in English
250704 - Structural dynamics 5
250710 - Inspection, analysis & restoration of historical constructions 5
This subject is taught in English
250474 - Structural management 5
250475 - Mixed & composite structures 5
250728 - Foundation structures 5
This subject is taught in English
Construction track elective courses
250715 - Economical & financial aspects of construction 5
250720 - Management skills 5
250722 - Advanced technics in construction 5
250723 - Using construction waste 5
Spring semester
Mandatory
250725 - Structural engineering 6
This subject has a group that is taught in English in Q2
Structures track elective courses
250439 - Numerical models in civil & structural engineering 5
This subject is taught in English
250958 - Computational structural mechanics & dynamics 5
This subject is taught in English
250706 - Structural analysis seminars 2,5
This subject is taught in English
250707 - Non-linear analysis & behaviour of concrete structures 5
250708 - Non-linear analysis of steel structures 5
250709 - Nanotechnology in construction 5
Biannual Course 21/22 is taught in Q2
250711 - Advanced bridge engineering 5
Biannual Course 21/22 is not taught. Course 22/23 is taught in Q2
250471 - Bridges 5 Course 2022/23 this subject is taught in English in Q1
250713 - Experimental techniques for the characterization of structural materials 5
250714 - Structural technology seminars 2,5
This subject is taught in English
250727 - Performance based seismic design & assessment of structures 5
This subject is taught in English
250730 - Structural optimization 5
This subject is taught in English
Biannual. Course 21/22 is not taught. Course 22/23 is taught in Q2
Construction track elective courses
250716 - Durability of structures 5
250717 - Environmental management 5
250718 - Quality management 5
250721 - Advanced materials in construction 5
250724 - Construction seminars 2,5
250729 - Health and safety in construction 5
Fall or spring semesters
Mandatory
250700 - Fundamentals of structural projects 6
This subject is taught in English in Q2
250702 - Workshops & research seminars 5,5
This subject is taught in English in Q2
Structures track elective courses
250470 - Building structures 5
This subject is taught in English in Q1 and Q2
250472 - Analysis & design of steel structures 5
This subject is taught in English in Q1
250473 - Advanced design of concrete structures 5
This subject is taught in English in Q2
250726 - Master's thesis 30

Students enrolled at UPC for the Master's Degree in Structural & Construction Engineering can access the following information:

NameEmail
Agelet de Saracibar Bosch, Carlos agelet@cimne.upc.edu
Aguado de Cea, Antonio antonio.aguado@upc.edu
Ainchil Lavin, Javier Pablo javier.pablo.ainchil@upc.edu
Alarcón Fernández, Daniel daniel.alarcon-fernandez@upc.edu
Alegre Heitzmann, Vicente vicente.alegre@upc.edu
Anitori, Giorgio giorgio.anitori@upc.edu
Aponte Hernández, Diego Fernando diego.fernando.aponte@upc.edu
Arrayago Luquin, Itsaso itsaso.arrayago@upc.edu
Bairán García, Jesús Miguel jesus.miguel.bairan@upc.edu
Barbu, Lucia Gratiela lgratiela@upc.edu
Barra Bizinotto, Marilda marilda.barra@upc.edu
Bugeda Castelltort, Gabriel gabriel.bugeda@upc.edu
Casas Rius, Juan Ramon joan.ramon.casas@upc.edu
Cerrolaza Rivas, Miguel Enrique miguel.cerrolaza@upc.edu
Cervera Ruiz, Luis Miguel miguel.cervera@upc.edu
Chacón Flores, Rolando Antonio rolando.chacon@upc.edu
Chiumenti, Michele michele@cimne.upc.edu
Codina Rovira, Ramon ramon.codina@upc.edu
De la Fuente Antequera, Alberto albert.de.la.fuente@upc.edu
De Pouplana Sardà, Ignasi ignasi.de.pouplana@upc.edu
Dialami Shabankareh, Narges narges.dialami@upc.edu
Domingo Tarancón, Magí magi.domingo@upc.edu
Etxeberria Larrañaga, Miren miren.etxeberria@upc.edu
Fernandez Sanchez, Pablo Gonzalo pablo.gonzalo.fernandez@upc.edu
Forcada Matheu, Nuria nuria.forcada@upc.edu
Galeote Moreno, Eduardo eduardo.galeote@upc.edu
Gallego Urbano, Sergio sergio.gallego@upc.edu
Gangolells Solanellas, Marta marta.gangolells@upc.edu
González de León, Isabel isabel.gonzalez.de.leon@upc.edu
Gonzalez Lopez, Jose Manuel jose.manuel.gonzalez@upc.edu
Jiménez Reyes, Sergio sergio.jimenez.reyes@upc.edu
Judez Muñoz, Pedro pedro.judez@upc.edu
Komarizadehasl, Seyedmilad milad.komary@upc.edu
Mari Bernat, Antonio Ricardo antonio.mari@upc.edu
Martinez Garcia, Javier x.martinez@upc.edu
Martinez Reguero, Adriana Haydee adriana.martinez@upc.edu
Masó Sotomayor, Miguel miguel.maso@upc.edu
Mirambell Arrizabalaga, Enrique enrique.mirambell@upc.edu
Molins Borrell, Climent climent.molins@upc.edu
Murcia Delso, Juan juan.murcia-delso@upc.edu
Oller Ibars, Eva Maria eva.oller@upc.edu
Pela, Luca luca.pela@upc.edu
Pujadas Álvarez, Pablo pablo.pujadas@upc.edu
Ramos Schneider, Gonzalo gonzalo.ramos@upc.edu
Real Saladrigas, Esther esther.real@upc.edu
Rivet Fernández, Iván ivan.rivet@upc.edu
Roca Fabregat, Pedro pere.roca.fabregat@upc.edu
Roca Ramon, Xavier xavier.roca@upc.edu
Rodriguez Niedenführ, Miquel miquel.rodriguez.niedenfuhr@upc.edu
Sala Lardies, Esther esther.sala-lardies@upc.edu
Segura Perez, Ignacio ignacio.segura@upc.edu
Tarragona Roig, Joan joan.tarragona@upc.edu
Tosic, Nikola nikola.tosic@upc.edu
Trubat Casal, Pau pau.trubat.casal@upc.edu
Turmo Coderque, Jose jose.turmo@upc.edu
Valls del Barrio, Susana susanna.valls@upc.edu
Verges Coll, David david.verges@upc.edu
Zarate Araiza, Jose Francisco zarate@cimne.upc.edu
Zlotnik Martinez, Sergio sergio.zlotnik@upc.edu

The Master's Thesis is an original exercise to be done individually and presented and defended before a university panel consisting in a project in the sphere of the specific civil engineering technologies synthesising and integrating the competences acquired on the course.

List of master's theses currently scheduled for public presentation:

This program has been awarded the following quality label:

AQU-MEEC-eng.png